Tech Talk at GitHub HQ

The event was cool… I walked a good 20 blocks from Bart to get there but once I got in the GitHub HQ doors, I realized my walk was well worth it. I could probably walk another 20 for that experience and what I got from the Dev/Color Tech Talk that night.

We met at about 6:30pm. I was late and arrived at 7:00pm. The bar and began tacos were calling me from a distance. I met my team members at the large picnic tables in the center of GitHub’s lounge. After a glass of wine and a few veggie tacos it was on to the board room (very unconventional by the way). A couple of GitHubs software engineers talked about their experiences working at a tech company. They went in and spoke about being in leadership while being black and minority, the challenges and rewards. 

I enjoyed GitHubs team very much but The real kicker for me was the intro to Hack Programming language and the statistical subjects a couple of our dev color members brought up during their 15 minute lightening talk. I won’t go into the talks but I will tell you they are beneficial and enlightening. 

Overall, my view of start up culture is changing. I’m viewing tech as a race that few are embracing. Even few African Americans. Why is it? Ill dig in another post but keep posted here for more updates on my tech journey.

Leave a Reply

